Tuesday, January 11, 2011

2011 Multisport season sponsorship!

A few weeks back I ran across a post on the Slowtwitch forum soliciting interested competitive age group triathletes to apply for a slot on a newly corporate sponsored triathlon team. Now... I know what you are thinking... but in my mind I think I am competitive! Anyway... I threw caution into the wind and put together all the information that was being asked of me to provide... a short bio, 2010 event results, 2011 planned events... well yesterday I received an email letting me know that I am one of the 12 selected to be on the inaugural team for the 2011 season!!!

That is way cool... but even cooler... it means companies that have signed up as sponsors offer incentives to the team... which means free gear, product and service discounts and potential media interaction as well as photos on their websites! I could not be more thrilled to be a part of this initiative put together by Ryan Falkee... soon you will see me listed as one of the team members on his website found here!

As of right now he has managed to line up several sponsors and there will be more in the future... I am stoked!

Attitude trumps pain!

Auburn Tigers... National Champions!

For the first time in 57 years... the Auburn University Tigers football program can call themselves National Champions! The game last night was an epic battle of two offensive powerhouses pitted against each other... for what was expected to be a high scoring offensive battle, this game began with a convincing display of defense. Three interceptions were thrown on consecutive drives, but neither offense could take advantage of them. They say defenses win championships and last night goes along way to prove it!

Some Auburn Facts (courtesy of ESPN Stats & Information )
  • Auburn becomes the first team since Georgia Tech in 1990 to win a national title after starting the season ranked outside the top 20. 
  • Cam Newton is the 9th Heisman winner to play in the national championship game in the last 11 years. 
  • Auburn's win, coming on the heels of Alabama's title last year, marks the first time in 70-plus years that two different teams from the same state are crowned national champs in consecutive seasons. 
  • The SEC improves to 7-0 in BCS title games and has now won the the last five. 
 2010... National Champs, SEC Champions, Coach of the Year, Heisman Trophy, Lombardi Award... and the list goes on... a perfect year to move back to Alabama to witness the perfect season...
 1Sat, Sep 4 Arkansas State
    Won 52-26
 2Thu, Sep 9 @ Mississippi State 
    Won 17-14
 3Sat, Sep 18 Clemson
    Won 27-24
 4Sat, Sep 25 (12) South Carolina 
    Won 35-27
 5Sat, Oct 2 Louisiana-Monroe
    Won 52-3
 6Sat, Oct 9 @ Kentucky 
    Won 37-34
 7Sat, Oct 16 (12) Arkansas 
    Won 65-43
 8Sat, Oct 23 (6) LSU 
    Won 24-17
 9Sat, Oct 30 @ Mississippi 
    Won 51-31
 10Sat, Nov 6 Chattanooga
    Won 62-24
 11Sat, Nov 13 Georgia
    Won 49-31
 13Fri, Nov 26 @ (9) Alabama 
    Won 28-27
 14Sat, Dec 4 @ (18) South Carolina 
    Won 56-17
 19Mon, Jan 10 (2) Oregon
      Won 22-19
    WAR DAMN EAGLE... and that is all I have to say about that!